Ystalyfera

History and Heritage

Saron Independent Chapel, Rhydyfro

Saron Independent Chapel, Rhydyfro was built in 1904, to replace what is now Saron Old Chapel, which was converted into a schoolroom for the chapel.

Saron Old Chapel, the original chapel was first constructed in 1815, but was rebuilt in 1843, then modified in 1857. This is the building which now stands as a Grade 2 listed building.



From the Llais

The Llais newspaper had always included a round-up of happenings at local churches and chapels, even when these were not part of any particular story. Sometimes they advertised forthcoming events, and at other times who was preaching, or had preached there recently.

From the South Wales Voice 13th November 1926:-

Mr Fred Jenkins, Ty Capel, Rhydyfro, has been indisposed for several months owing to knee trouble, believed to be the effects of an accident received about 10 years ago. He was employed at Messrs Gilbertsons' alloy works, and is the caretaker of Saron Chapel, Rhydyfro.


From the South Wales Voice 9th February 1935:-

SARON EISTEDDFOD

Saron annual Eisteddfod, Rhydyfro, one of the few events of its kind remaing in the district, is increasing in popularity each year. This year's Eisteddfod which is the 14th, will be held at Saron on May 5th and the programme is being prepared for the event.